top of page
  • Writer's pictureLori-Anne Thibault

Why I Love Being Canadian

Happy Canada Day! With my usual Monday post falling on this day, I thought that this would be the perfect opportunity to highlight the reasons I love living in Canada and being Canadian. Some people choose Canada as their home, escaping sometimes war-torn countries or simply seeking something new. I was lucky to be born and raised here and have had a chance to travel to many places along the East coast for the most part. Every day I feel grateful to be able to call Canada my home.


1. The Landscapes

Unfortunately, I haven't been to the incredible location pictured above. But you bet that it's on my bucket list. One thing about Canada that is both great and not so great is that it is incredibly large and there are so many places to discover. There will always be something new to discover, but it's a little far out. It's amazing how one country can have the coast along the ocean, big modern cities as well as European influenced ones, prairies that go as far as the eye can see, and mountains with the most beautiful snowy tips and clear blue lakes. Canada's beauty is something that will never cease to amaze me. There are 39 National Parks to discover... Maybe one day I will get to see them all!


2. The Multiculturalism

Canada is an extremely welcoming country that has taken in people from all over the world. I spent many years living in a small town where the multiculturalism wasn't as apparent. However, when I moved to Ottawa, I could clearly see the multiculturalism everywhere I turned. I have friends originating from countries all across the world, and I think that is amazing.


3. Access to education

Education is obligated up to the age of 16 in every province in Canada, except for Manitoba, Ontario and New Brunswick, where the age is 18 or at the completion of high school. I think that this law is incredible, because it means that Canada's youth is highly educated and given a chance at the best possible life. On top of this, primary and secondary education is free! I was talking to a man at the bus stop the other day, and he was telling me about education in his home country. He asked me if university was free, to which I replied it was not but students have access to loans. He told me about how in his country, there are no loans or grants to help with pursuing a higher education. People have to pay out of pocket to access an education. Hearing of things like this remind me of how grateful I am to live in a country where education is accessible and encouraged.


4. Our Canadian Armed Forces

Wix, the website I use for my blog, does not have a ton of Canadian pictures. So here are some Mounties! I am grateful to be in a country where its army is so active in peace missions across the world. Our army protects us on our home land, but also supports peace and stability in countries that need assistance. Thank you to all the men and women who take part in keeping us safe every single day, and who have made Canada the safe place it is.


5. The quality of life

Canada is ranked the 3rd best country for quality of life, which I think is pretty darn amazing. Canada is a country with a stable economy, a good job market, that is safe, politically stable, family friendly, with a well-developed public education system and health system. I've talked to many new comers over the last few years, and hearing them rave about how much better life is here really warms my heart. It makes me happy that Canada can welcome people with (mostly) open arms and provide them with a safe place to live where their quality of life will significantly increase.


5. Maple syrup

Isn't it cool that someone once went "hey! What if I jab this tree with this spout, and use the liquid to make a sweet, heavenly syrup?". I love that person. Maple syrup is such an iconic Canadian staple. Among all the other important things that make this country so great, I truly think that maple syrup is something that I can't forget to mention.

My goodness, I love this country. I can't wait to continue to discover all the gems that it has to offer. Canada: True North, Strong and Free.


Thank you for reading! Wishing you an amazing and safe Canada Day (if you are reading this on July 1st). Don't forget to subscribe by entering your information at the bottom of this page to get notified of each new post!


11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Never miss a post!

© 2019 By Lori-Anne Thibault. Proudly created by WIX.COM 

bottom of page