top of page
  • Writer's pictureLori-Anne Thibault

Fuelling Your Creative Energy

I can't remember a time when I wasn't creative person. For as long as I can remember, I've loved to draw, paint, build things and write. I would find a way to incorporate creativity into every aspect of my life. In school, my favourite classes were always Art, languages or any class where there was a creative project involved. My teachers would always tell me that I didn't necessarily have to put together an elaborate PowerPoint or over the top display board. Of course, I never listened and always let myself get carried away in every project. While applying for university, I applied to program that would allow me to get a job where my creativity could be put to good use. You can only imagine how I felt when i landed my first full time job, which basically consisted of screening job applications and manually inputting those resumes into the online database. It was truly soul crushing. I found myself searching for ways to use my creativity before I totally lost it. I was feeling uninspired and in major need of a creative outlet. I know I can't be the only one who has lived this, which is why I wanted to tell you about how I got myself out of this slump.


1. Read a book


Early this year, I was feeling totally uninspired. I picked up Elizabeth Gilbert's book "Big Magic: Creative Living Beyond Fear". This book reignited that spark within me that I had been missing. She talks about using the gift of creativity without fear of judgement or failure. Reading about this successful authors hits and misses as well as her definition of creativity inspired me. Gilbert's book is one of many to pick up to get inspired. Check out the following link for an extensive list of books to read: 40 books to unlock your creativity and get you started on your life's best work.


2. Find inspiration


Inspiration can be found everywhere. From books, to movies, to music, paintings and so much more, inspiration can always be found. Getting inspiration from somewhere is a great start. Sometimes, all it takes is something that sparks a new idea.


3. Take a class


Taking a class can really fuel that creative itch you might be feeling. Doing something like a paint night or taking a dance class can be a great way to use that pent-up creative energy. Maybe you don't feel that you have time to start a creative project. Taking a class could be a great way to put your creativity to use once in a while.


4. Start a project


Starting a long-term project that requires ongoing creativity is a great way to get your dose of creativity. The projects that have been fuelling my creative energy have been this blog and my bullet journal. These require continuous work, which makes sure that I always have a creative outlet at my disposal.


5. Practice self care


Now this isn't necessarily what will get your creative juices flowing but taking care of yourself is what will make sure that you have the energy that you need to be creative. Being healthy and well rested make being creative so much easier.


Feeling uninspired and drained of creative energy is so hard for us creative spirits. Luckily, creativity is never too far gone. We just need of know how to fuel that energy.


How do you find inspiration? Let me know! Make sure you are subscribed for weekly content, every Monday!

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Never miss a post!

© 2019 By Lori-Anne Thibault. Proudly created by WIX.COM 

bottom of page