top of page
  • Writer's pictureLori-Anne Thibault

Why I'm Grateful For the Bad Times

No rain, no flowers

I am the kind of person who finds the silver lining in basically every crappy situation, because I firmly believe that something that be taken from almost any situation. When something bad or just downright crappy happens, I try not to let it get to me. Instead, I take a pause and come up with a lesson of some sort that I can pull from that situation. It's easy to sulk and feel like nothing will get better, but I promise that that shift in perspective can truly change your life and your outlook. I can say that although I wish some bad things hadn't happened, I am still grateful for them, because they've changed my perspective, I may have gained something from it and I've grown as a person.


Change of perspective


I will warn you right now, I am generally an optimist and a "glass half full" kind of a person. For some people, this entire blog will feel like a load of crap. Others thought might get a flash and be like "YES".


Bad things will happen to each and every single one of us in our lifetime. The definition of a bad thing varies from person to person. Having to get through things that are hard to deal with is something that is inevitable. What changes these bad things is how we deal with them. If we allow these experiences to open our eyes and broaden our perspective, that's when these things become a little less hard. For example, say you got fired. Some people might be down on themselves, whereas others might stand back up, keep their chin up and remind themselves that this is an opportunity to learn from our mistakes and find something better. Say you got in a car accident and your car is ruined but you are safe and unharmed. This really sucks, but at least you made it out in one piece. These things that happen to us are a good opportunity to change out perspective to push through. Some of these experiences are also very opening. I've gone through breakups that really hurt. Like... I was totally blindsided and dumbstruck as to what went wrong. I might be sad about it for a couple of days, but then I bounce back and remind myself that I should be saying thank you, because now I can find someone who deserves my time and affection. Totally channeling my inner Ariana Grande.


New relationships and friendships


Following on the same train of thoughts, I am grateful for those who broke my heart or did me wrong, because had they not, I wouldn't have been in other relationships that really changed me for the better or in the one I am now. Think about it... Had that mediocre guy not broken up with you, you might still be together and not have found the (I hope) amazing guy you are with now or wouldn't be available for your soul mate that you are bound to meet. Some things are just meant to go down the way they do.


I am also really grateful for some crappy relationships and shitty jobs, because had it not been for them, I wouldn't have met some really good friends. I've made some really good friends through guys that I've dated and I still spend time with them. Yes, the guy is out of the picture, but these friends have stuck around. Same goes for bad jobs. This one job is particular was absolutely insufferable. I was totally miserable. However, had it not been for this job, I wouldn't have met my friends Angie and Marie, who are now two of my best friends here in Ottawa. I only became friends with them towards the end of my time at that job and I keep telling myself that had I gone through with an interview a few months before and gotten the job, I probably wouldn't have these two friends in my life. I am grateful to have stuck through this bad time, because it brought me so much good.


Personal growth


When we learn from hard times, we tend to grow as a person. We become stronger, more resilient, and a little wiser. I personally think that any experience that contributes to your personal growth isn't all bad. Things change us, but not always for the worst. Had certain things not happened, we may not be exactly where we are right now. I know that had it not been for certain things that have happened in my life in the last year or so, I wouldn't be sitting exactly where I am right now. And where I am right now is pretty damn good I must say.


How have certain bad things shaped you? Don't forget to be subscribed for weekly content!


18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Never miss a post!

© 2019 By Lori-Anne Thibault. Proudly created by WIX.COM 

bottom of page