top of page
  • Writer's pictureLori-Anne Thibault

The Importance of Self-Care + My Routine

We often don't realize the importance of taking the time to practice self-care until we are feeling completely burnt out and too tired to even move. Many of us are guilty of living life at 100 kilometres per hour and not taking a break to just breathe and take care of ourselves. Practicing self-care can be done in a lot of ways and means something different to each of us. Some like to get their nails done and have a spa night, others like to spend time alone, whereas for some self-care can just mean sleeping in on the weekend. To me, self-care means doing something that makes me happy and feel good, which can be a lot of things. It's doing something for me and me only. Let's face it, me doing a face mask won't benefit anyone else, and that's what makes it caring for you and you only.


Some people don't take the time for self-care because they think it is a selfish act. I am here to tell you that self-care is NOT SELFISH. Taking care of yourself first also allows you to be your best self to then take care of others. The flight attendants don't tell you to put your oxygen mask on before helping someone else for nothing. How are you supposed to take care of others if you haven't taken care of yourself first? I know that's a bit of a stretch, but I think you know where I'm coming from. In order for me to give the best version of myself to my friends, family, coworkers and loved-ones, I need to be well-rested and happy. If you need to say no to plans to have a night at home with a face-mask, a glass of wine and an episode of Grey’s Anatomy (or four...), then so be it. If that's what will make you feel refreshed and happy, then that's what you need to do.


I live by the mantra #treatyourself. I know some people who refuse to buy themselves a new pair of shoes even if theirs are falling apart, because they feel that it's selfish. I'm a firm believer that treating yourself from time to time is an act of self-care. If you're doing something for you that makes you smile and feel good, then there is no shame in that!


I practice a form of self-care in many different ways, and on a daily, weekly and monthly basis. Some of the things we do on a daily basis, like having a skin care routine, is a form of self-care. I always make sure that what I am doing on a daily basis is fuelling my energy and is benefiting me in some way. Like taking care of my skin, having a nice cup of coffee and just doing things that make ME feel good.


Daily Self-Care:



Things I do on a daily basis that I consider to be self-care:

  • Practice a skin-care routine: Taking the time to take care of your skin is so important! Take the time to feed your skin with products that will bring out your natural glow and will make you feel good.

  • Getting enough sleep: I go to bed early because I feel my best when I get 7-8 hours of sleep. If I need to go home early or not go out because I know I will feel better because of it, then that's what I will do!

  • Doing something I enjoy: This can be so many things, from writing to drawing in my bullet journal. If this makes me happy, I am taking care of myself.

  • Watch my favourite TV Show: Sometimes just hanging out with Meredith Grey and staying in just makes me happy. It's a time for me to unwind and relax, hence, taking care of my wellbeing in away.


Weekly Self-Care:



The following things happen throughout the week and I make sure to make time for them, because I know that when I do, I feel refreshed and good about myself:

  • Face mask: I do this almost on a weekly basis. It's hard to run around doing a million things when you have a face-mask on. You are basically obligated to take a break and just relax.

  • Hitting the gym: I try fitting in a few workouts throughout my week. This is time that I am taking to take care of myself and it doesn't impact anyone else. I feel good and strong, and that's definitely a strong and important form of self-care.

  • Seeing friends: I've mentioned taking time for myself a lot, but also taking a break from the craziness of life and work to just catch up with friends is so important. I try to do this weekly, because smiling and laughing with my friends is one of the things that makes me feel the best.

  • Paint my nails: This might not happen on weekly basis, but taking time to paint my nails is something I really enjoy doing. Usually with an episode of Greys, of course. Lately, I've gone to get them done a couple of times to make it last longer, and this is absolutely another important form of self-care, mixed in with my favourite mantra #treatyourself.


Monthly Self-Care:



  • Shopping: Treating yourself to a new face mask, tea, book, dress or whatever else you've been eyeing, to me, is self-care. Treating yourself is for you and you only, so there you go!


Other Forms of Self-Care:




There are some other things that come up from time to time that we do and just say "I'm doing this for me". They may not happen often, but know that in doing these things, you are taking care of yourself and that's totally okay.

  • Treating yourself to a massage: I've gotten one massage done because I was so tense. It felt a little silly to take an hour out of my day to lie on a table and get a massage, but wow, it felt great. I was just on another planet after that. If your health benefits cover this, take full advantage! Getting a massage is great for your physical health, but also your mental health!

  • Going to the spa: This might happen once, maybe twice per year. Taking an afternoon to escape to the spa and relax does wonders. Now this is the ultimate form of self-care.

  • Saying no to plans: I know we can feel like we have to say yes to everything that comes out way. And that's how we end up burnt out and exhausted. If saying no to take care of yourself if what you need to do, there is absolutely nothing wrong with that. This also means being understanding when a friend says no as well. We all need a break sometimes.

  • Buy yourself flowers: I like to this from time to time because flowers make me so happy. They make me smile, and that smile goes on for the entire time that they last. They aren't useful in any way, but if they make you feel good, then do it!

  • Take a nap: Naps are my favourite. I don't understand how we would be so fussy about it as children. They are the best. If I feel so drained at the end of the day that I can barely keep my eyes open, then I know that taking a nap is the self-care form that I need.


I started off this post saying that many of us are constantly moving at lightning speeds. It can feel difficult to take time to take that break and just care for ourselves when life is moving by so fast. The best way to incorporate it into your life and make a routine of it, is to just make it a part of your routine like anything else. Taking an hour on each Sunday evening to just do a face mask and making a point of making this a weekly thing is a sure way to make taking care of yourself a priority. Treat it like any other goal. Maybe you take the time to go for runs to be able to run a half marathon. Then why wouldn't you also take a bit of time to just pause and do something just because it makes you feel good, like a face mask!


Remember, doing something for you isn't selfish at all. Taking care of yourself in order to be the best you, is actually also beneficial to everyone around you in a way. Slow down from time to time and just do the things that make life enjoyable. You deserve it.

What is your favourite form of self-care? Let me know! Make sure you are subscribed if you aren't already to receive updates on new posts, every Monday!

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Never miss a post!

© 2019 By Lori-Anne Thibault. Proudly created by WIX.COM 

bottom of page