top of page
  • Writer's pictureLori-Anne Thibault

The Importance of Having A "Girl Squad"

"Stay close to people that feel like sunlight"

Friendship is one of the most precious things in the world. How odd is it that human beings meet so many people throughout the course of their lives and from time to time, some of them that that come through stick out amongst the rest and we choose to spend our time with them. Many people have come through my life because of how I moved cities a couple of times growing up. Over time, I have made lots of friends and there are many of them that I consider my best friends. I have my childhood best friend, my best friend from high school, my best friend from university, my best friend from college, etc. Of course, there is my very best friend Katie. Now, I could write an entirely separate blog post about my friendship with her (*makes mental note*), but today I want to talk about a specific type of friendship that I've always adored, but even more so in the last few months. I want to talk to you about my "girl squad" and why I think having a girl squad is so important.


Myself, Angie and Marie.

The above picture might be one of my favourites. I believe this was the second time I went out with Angie and Marie, two friends that I made while working at my previous job. We had all been working together for almost a year, but it was only towards the end of my time at this job that we really connected and became such close friends. I kick myself in the butt all the time for not coming out of my shell and making closer friendships at places like work. Angie had reached out to a chunk of the girls at work, inviting them out to what's called "Nature Nocturne". The Museum of Nature in Ottawa turns into a sort of club at the end of every month. I had never been and knew that the girls at work were super fun. It turned out that only the three of us were available and wanting to go out. Not gonna lie, I'm very grateful because from this night, a wonderful friendship blossomed. We had such an amazing night and it felt like we had been friends forever. Oh... The theme of this "Nature Nocturne" was "Unicorn or Narwhal?", hence the unicorn horns being worn in the above picture. Ladies, a great trick to get free drinks is to wear a unicorn horn to a bar. You will get many "Happy birthdays" from total strangers. Does it have to be your birthday to wear a unicorn horn in public? Angie tested this and it has been confirmed that no, but people will assume.


Angie and Marie are two genuinely kind girls who always find a way to make me laugh until my face hurts. Even with all the fun, they are still girls that I can be real with and talk about pretty much anything and know that they won't judge and will have something insightful to say. Something I love about this group of friends is that we come from very different walks of life. Yet, I feel that we can still relate to each other and learn so much from each other as well. I think having a group of friends who get together as opposed to one on one time has a different kind of value, because different points of views are brought to the table and discussions are always interesting and help you to grow.


Birthday love

It's so important to surround yourself with friends who lift you up no matter what. A girl squad should be composed of friends who believe in you and are always pushing you towards your goals. I've had friends who weren't exactly supportive of my ambitions, and friends like that don't have a place in my girl squad. They should be friends who celebrate your accomplishments and that when they accomplish something, their accomplishments are something you want to celebrate out of your love for them. Like Angie getting a new job! The big moments in your life also feel so much greater when you have people to celebrate them with. I love how for example, I went on a good date and when I tell the girls about it, they are excited for me and want to know all the details. Keep reading to see just how interested my friends are in these types of things.... Girlfriends like these ones will also always have your back and will hate that jerk who broke your heart just as much as you do. Your squad will make you feel beautiful and will hype you up. I swear, going out with these girls always makes me feel like a million bucks because they always make sure to tell you how hot you look. Thank you for that boost. A girl squad like this one radiates so much positive and uplifting energy, and I really hope that everyone can have that feeling in their own friendships. I think that having a tight group of friends is just some kind of magic, to be honest.


Making a group of friends like this doesn't always happen so easily for everyone. As I mentioned, I have friends from all over. Having a group of friends comes from introducing friends to other friends and having a group that just click. You can find girl friends and have a squad form itself in the most unlikely of place. I wouldn't have thought that I would have met girls that I am this close at work of all places. We aren't the same age and are all in very different life situations. And yet, we just work. We get along and we love each other's company. Whether we are going out dancing, staying in and watching Friends on the couch or strolling through the farmers market, we always have a great time. On Canada Day, Angie had to bring her son to the celebrations. We went to Marie's mothers and had a lunch with her family, and then we all went out to the beach and just had a total blast. I feel like you can't just do that with anyone. That kind connection is something that I hold really close to my heart. I know that I will always have an amazing time with my girl squad and sometimes, after a long week, knowing you'll be getting together with your girl friends is just a really amazing feeling.


These girls are actually the some of the funniest that I know. You know when I said that they get excited for me when I have a date and want to know all the details? Well. Get this. Just last night, I went out with Angie and Marie and stayed at Marie's afterwards. I had a brunch date the following morning and I was meeting up with him close to Marie's. I got ready in the morning and made my way out. The girls jokingly said they should come to the same restaurant for brunch and creep on my date. You should have seen my face when I hear loud giggling and spot two girls with scarves on their heads and sunglasses on walking past the open window of the restaurant. I managed to keep a poker face and not burst out laughing and make my date uncomfortable, but every time I thought about them after that I would smile into my cup of coffee just to keep from laughing to myself. These girls are crazy in the best way possible. It was the highlight of my week. Perhaps even the month, ahah! After my date, I went back to Marie's to grab my things. This is when I found out that they had actually been across the street having breakfast on a patio, facing my date and I, seeing how things were going. I haven't laughed that hard in a long time... Like come on... Not a lot of friends would do that, right? They are too funny... Just imagine listening to your date and then seeing these two girls walk by from the corner of your eye:



Yeah... I nearly died in that moment.


Having a group of girlfriends who lift each other up and celebrate each other is just so important. It is something I wish for everyone. The strong bond between a group of people is just so special and unique. I love making memories with these girls and look forward to continuing to make memories with them.


What is your favourite thing about your girl squad? Mine is that we are constantly lifting each other up and making each other smile and laugh. Make sure to be subscribed for notifications for when new posts are made live, every Monday!

29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Never miss a post!

© 2019 By Lori-Anne Thibault. Proudly created by WIX.COM 

bottom of page