top of page
  • Writer's pictureLori-Anne Thibault

Stepping Out of Your Comfort Zone

Every human being has a comfort zone. For some, it might be very limited and there aren't many news things that they willing to try, out of fear of a panoply of things. Others may have a very large comfort zone and are open to many things, but even with a ginormous comfort zone, I'd think that everyone encounters something that doesn't feel familiar or safe to them. Your comfort zone is a behavioural space where the things you do and feel fit into a routine where you feel comfortable, safe and stress free. Being in this comfortable zone keeps you happy, which is why often if we are forced out of our comfort zone, anxiety and stress settles in. I think that stepping out of your comfort zone is extremely important, when it's a choice of course. When you make the conscious decision of trying something new and expanding your limits, you can really discover what you are capable of.


I like my comfort zone... I enjoy feeling cozy, secure, and like I know exactly what's going to happen. Unfortunately, I know that that content and peaceful feeling isn't something you can always live in. Sometimes, you just have to push yourself a step further and try something you might not feel immediately comfortable with.


The first thing that comes to my mind, which might seem like a totally trivial thing, is a water slide I went on recently. Those who know me well or who've known me for a long time know that I LOVE roller coasters. I'm somewhat of an adrenaline junkie. Because I'm not an insanely good swimmer, I definitely prefer waterslides where you are sitting on something and don't have an insane amount of risk. I recently went to Calypso, a waterpark near Ottawa. I was with a group and they all wanted to do one of the slides that I refer to as "The Toilet Bowl". I honestly don't know the exact name, but it's the one where you go around the "bowl" and drop through the hole into a pool underneath it. I was extremely nervous, because I remember going on it when I was younger and hitting my head and feeling like I might drown. Since that day, I kept my distance from this slide. This time, I told myself that one of the guys who is extremely afraid of heights stepped out of his comfort zone and came along on the big slides ended up really enjoying it, so if he could do it, so could I. Don't get me wrong, I was TERRIFIED. I went last and inhaled a bunch of water when I got into the pool. BUT, I'm still glad I stepped out of my comfort zone and tried something that scared me a little. It was actually quite exhilarating.


Another example that comes to mind has to do with fashion and going out with friends. For the longest time, I was very conservative with my style. I didn't like anything that would make me stand out too much, that was too form fitting or too sexy. My style comfort zone was just something that wouldn't draw too much attention. Even in university, as an adult, I still didn't dare to dress a little more mature, even if we were going out to a nice club. Skinny black jeans and a nice v-neck did the trick. And if something was low cut, it was long sleeves or with a cardigan thrown over it. In the last few months, I've gotten really close with two girls who totally own their femininity and are super proud of their bodies. I remember the second time we went out, I went shopping with one of them and she made me try on more fitting dresses and helped me to find something that had that "wow" factor. I wasn't totally sure, but chose to go for it anyways. Let me tell you, a sexy little black dress is magical. Pushing myself out of my comfort zone made me feel so good, grown up, and gave me this insane confidence boost that I was in great need of at that time. Having friends who encourage you to push yourself a little further and take risks is really a great thing. I mean, as long as it's not dangerous or illegal...



Stepping out of your comfort zone is just something you should try to do in all aspects of your life. Step out of your comfort zone and apply for that job that scares you a little bit, wear something you normally wouldn't, approach the guy you're eying at the bar, ride the damn water slide!


“Coming out of your comfort zone is tough in the beginning, chaotic in the middle, and awesome in the end…because in the end, it shows you a whole new world.” – Manoj Arora

Is there an instance that you stepped out of your comfort zone and that you were glad you did? Let me know! Don't forget to subscribe to be notified when a new post goes live on Monday mornings, every single week!

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Never miss a post!

© 2019 By Lori-Anne Thibault. Proudly created by WIX.COM 

bottom of page