top of page
  • Writer's pictureLori-Anne Thibault

Shake Off The Winter Blues In 10 Steps

We've made it... Winter is finally behind us. It feels as though spring took forever to get here and winter came way too early. I don't know about you, but this insanely long winter definitely took a toll on me. Actually... Every winter takes a toll of me. Many people say they suffer from Seasonal Affective Disorder, otherwise known as "Season Depression". This type of depression is related to change in season and often resurfaces around the same time each year and goes away as the season changes. Now, I personally wouldn't say I am quite at this level, but I definitely get hit with the Winter Blues every single year. There might be a day or two where I think winter is quite beautiful and it might actually be a good one, but the second I start getting uncomfortably cold of damp, the Winter Blues start settling in. The 2018-2019 winter has hit me particularly bad. It came incredibly early and as I am writing this on April 14th, the snow isn't completely gone, and I am just now starting to feel like I can MAYBE put my winter boots away. You can never be too sure right.


As the weather starts to change, you might notice that you are having a hard time shaking off those Winter Blues. My Winter Blues "symptoms" include fatigue, lack of motivation, stress and sometimes isolation. The colder season doesn't really encourage me to get out and socialize. If it wasn't for work, I probably wouldn't be very encouraged to ever leave the comfort of my own home. Now that the weather is starting to change, I feel like those symptoms are still kind of lingering. I put a lot of thought into this and wanted to share my tips on how to shake those remaining Winter Blues. These are things that have worked for me in the past and that I will continue to use to get back to my usual, happy and energized self.




1. Switch Out Your Wardrobe



I love cozy sweaters as much as the next girl but seeing them in my closet is a sad reminder that it isn't warm enough yet to break out my light jackets and dresses. I tend to make the switch at the first sight of nice weather. In Canada, that's usually a little too early because we always get hit with Winter 2.0. A girl can be optimistic right? Don't do what I do. Wait a bit before switching out your wardrobe. There is something extremely encouraging about seeing your spring and summer pieces hanging in your closet. My summer dresses tell me that there is hope for sunshine and flowers!


2. Add A New Spring Piece to Your Wardrobe


I don't need an excuse to pick up a new piece of clothing but, if you do, I am telling you to treat yourself to something new that screams SPRING. Florals and pastels never fail to make me feel cute and brand new. This year, I got a new spring jacket the first week of March and it sat in my closet, mocking me, for the last month and a half. Finally, it is starting to be warm enough to wear it outside without freezing. The first day I wore it out, I felt lighter and happier. It's silly to say, but it worked! Time to ditch the wool sweaters!


3. Add Some Life to Your Home - Get A Plant or Fresh Flowers!


Add some colour to your home by getting fresh flowers or even a plant. Everything was dead all winter, so bringing in a bit of life into your space is definitely encouraging. Seeing the sun shining in through the window onto my cactus and other plants honestly makes me so happy. Plants are a reminder that life and nature is coming back!


4. Clean and Declutter


This is so cliché, but spring cleaning is no joke and I must mention it. Taking a day to clean and declutter your space will be so therapeutic. Scrub out the salt and dirt stains in your entrance (nobody needs the reminder of winter and salt stains), dust, vacuum, clean it all. A fresh space is so refreshing and will allow you to start the new season on the right foot. An overall decluttering will make you feel lighter. We don't all enjoy the process of cleaning, but can anyone really say they don't feel good once their space is fresh and clean?


5. Change Up Your Space


I don't mean buy new furniture and switch everything out. But making small changes to your space can make you feel like a page has turned and it's a new chapter. This can be as easy as changing your furniture around or adding in a colourful throw pillow onto your bed or couch. Something so minor can make such a big difference. A friend of mine switched out her grey shower curtain for a bright leafy pattern, added colourful placemats and fresh flowers to her dining table and wow, what a difference! Bringing in colour into your home is good for your spirit. A fresh start into a new season is a sure way to shake off those nasty Winter Blues.


6. Start A New Project


Find something that will motivate you and get you excited. For me, it was starting this blog. I entered spring with a big project in mind and used it as a driver to get my energy levels back up. A new project can be big or small. Maybe you've been meaning to sort through all the files in your computer and delete some stuff. Hey, that's a project in itself! Maybe you've been wanting to crochet a blanket, well now is a good time to take that on! Building the motivation to start something you've been wanting to do for a long time is a great way to get energized and start off spring on the right foot, leaving winter behind.


7. Take Advantage of The Nice Days


As much as I love the mild days of spring and the sight of flowers blooming, this season does have a lot of rain, which isn't necessarily the most cheerful kind of weather. Honestly, I will take rain every day for a week if it means that the last of the snow will melt. This being said, when there are those beautiful days in the spring time where it is sunny and +15, take full advantage of those days. Unlike during the summer, consecutive nice days aren't as common, especially early in the spring time. That sunny +15 days is not the day to stay cooped up inside. Go out for a walk, hit up a patio, go for a run! Which brings me to my next point.


8. Get Active


Get that body moving! It's so easy to be a couch potato in the winter time. Sweat pants, fuzzy socks and blankets are just so welcoming. When spring come around, it's time to throw on your running shoes and get out there! You don't even NEED to go for a run, a walk is good too. If you do want to get into running, make sure to check back in next week (spoiler alert). Get to the gym, go for a run, go for a brisk walk, do some yoga, just get active. Exercise releases important chemicals like endorphins and serotonin which are key to improving mental health. Regular exercise reduces stress, anxiety and mental conditions like depression. Exercise will shake off the last bit of those Winter Blues, making you feel energized and happy. Physical activity is the key to my good mood, especially in the spring time when I need that extra bit of help to get my back to my usual self.


9. Start A Good Book


Reading isn't for everyone and I totally understand that. If you do happen to enjoy reading, spring time is perfect for starting a new book. Pick up something funny and inspiring (if you need some recommendations, check out my article 6 Books That Changed My Life) that will change your outlook. Take it outside to a park and soak in the sunshine while immersing yourself in a good story. If you don't like reading, maybe consider listening to the audio version of the funny self-help books that everyone has been raving about. I personally recommend Rachel Hollis' books "Girl Wash Your Face" or "Girl Stop Apologizing" to kick off the spring.


10. Surround Yourself with Friends


Surrounding yourself with positive people is a sure way to improve your mood. Go out and do something fun together that will put a smile on your face and create a new memory. Like I said, it is easy to isolate yourself in the winter and not want to go out. Give yourself a little push and get out there! You don't need to go take tequila shots to have a good time. Brunch is fun too! I've been taking spending a lot of quality time with friends lately and have built stronger connections too. Needless to say, my spirits have been lifted and I am feeling ready to go into spring and summer completely refreshed.

 

If you are someone who struggles as the seasons change, you are not alone. I think most of us feel that same struggle. Never hesitate to reach out to a friend for support or seek the help of a professional if you are being hit extra hard. I hope that you were able to pull something from this article and will now get up and breathe in the spring air. Sunshine and florals are upon us! Let's soak it in!

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Never miss a post!

© 2019 By Lori-Anne Thibault. Proudly created by WIX.COM 

bottom of page