top of page
  • Writer's pictureLori-Anne Thibault

Half-Marathon Update + Why I Run

I'll answer this question now to get it out of the way... yes, I run and no, I'm not being chased when I do it. Running gives me this feeling of clarity that is honestly so valuable given how busy life can get. It gives me a chance to get outdoors and get a good workout all at once. I love lacing up my shoelaces, putting on my running playlist and hitting the ground running.


This year, I chose to challenge myself and run a half-marathon. I had done one in September 2016 and it had gone so horribly that I had told myself I'd never attempt that again. In January, I was feeling particularly optimistic and chose to challenge myself and be more disciplined with my training. It felt a little crazy, but I embraced the challenge.


This time around, training went so much better than I'm 2016. For one, I actually trained... so that already puts me was ahead of 20-year-old Lori. I have to say I didn't run quite as much as I would have wanted to, but I was progressively building endurance and distance at a steady and manageable pace. I also had a really great training partner to help keep me accountable and push me when I felt like I was wanting to slow down or stop. We run at the same pace which is extremely helpful. We ran two 10km races over the summer and have been increasing our distance ever since the last race in June. I'm so lucky to have been able to train with her!


Training for this kind of race is super time consuming. Going for long runs to train meant being out for over two hours at a time and having to go early enough to avoid running in the pitch black and inhaling mosquitoes. Running for over two hours at a time definitely feels like forever when you're doing it!


My only roadblock really came when my knees started giving me a harder and harder time. I self-diagnosed myself with having IT band syndrome since all of my knee issues match exactly the IT band syndrome symptoms. Of course, I'll be going to a physiotherapist very soon to confirm this, but all I can say is that it's extremely unpleasant. Luckily, I found a compression band that really helps keep the pain at bay. Earlier in the season, I was using a compression brace that covered my entire knee. It helped for a while, but eventually the longer distances were starting to get very uncomfortable. The compression band has a sort of square block in it that presses on the IT band to relieve the pressure around the knee. I can happily report that my leg (mostly) held up during my race!


Army Run Half-Marathon 2019


The Canada Army Run is my favourite event of the year. According to Sportstats, there were 3741 runners doing the half-marathon this year. The energy at this event is like anything I've seen at a race. Most importantly, the funds go towards a cause that means something to me. I love the military displays and moments throughout the course that give a nod towards our Canadian army, like the gun start, bands playing throughout, the remembrance photos, the run through the military cemetery, the dog tags serving as medals and the soldiers handing them out.


You see all sorts of participants at this race, I think in part because of the variety of available distances to run. There used to only be a 5km and the half-marathon (21.1km), but they have since added the commanders challenge (5km then half-marathon), then they added a 10km and each year they rename the challenge combining the 5km and the 15km. For this reason, you see a lot of children in the race, walkers, as well as injured veterans. I think it's really great to see such a wide variety of people come together and be active for one cause.


I am actually quite pleased about how the run went this year. With my knee giving me such a hard time throughout all of training, I shifted my goal to running the entire thing (unless I was in too much pain) without hurting myself more, even if that meant running slow and finishing with a longer time. I started off around my usual pace but ended up slowing down as the hills got harder and harder and my legs were feeling heavy and sore. This being said, despite running at a slower pace, I ran the entire thing (other than taking a few steps at the water station because running while drinking from a cup is very difficult). Looking at my placement, I can say I'm a littleeee bit disappointed, but my goal was to finish in 2.5 hours and I went just a little over that finishing in 2:35:07. Completing the race without any injury, still being able to walk and smile at the end was an accomplishment in itself. I don't think I will be running a half-marathon every year, but unlike my first one, I am now not saying "never again". My thinking is that I will do the 5km+10km next year and go for the half the following year. But hey... we'll see!




Why I Run


As I mentioned in the beginning of this post, running gives me clarity. I feel like my brain is often on overdrive all day and I am always thinking of SOMETHING. Although I do think when I run, I am also focussing on my pace, my breathing, the music and my surroundings. The endorphins bring out that feeling of well-being and happiness, which help me think in a positive, constructive way. Thinking about issues while running definitely makes me come up with better solutions.


I also love cardio as a workout. I love what running does for my body to be honest. My strong and muscular legs are in part due to running, but running also keeps me lean so hey, bonus. Running makes me feel strong physically and mentally. You kind of feel a little invincible while out for a run. It's a great feeling.


I really do love running, and that's why it is now time for me to put the running shoes away (well actually, in the garbage because mine are so old that they may be a factor in my knee issues... oops...) and focus on the gym and recovery. I'm way too clumsy to run in the winter time, so I usually focus on muscle building and conditioning. I now need to go see a physiotherapist so that I can hopefully figure out a way to be able to run for many years to come.


9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Never miss a post!

© 2019 By Lori-Anne Thibault. Proudly created by WIX.COM 

bottom of page