top of page
  • Writer's pictureLori-Anne Thibault

Guilty Pleasures of the Season - Summer Wrap-Up

It's officially the last week of summer (technically speaking)! This being said, it has definitely felt more like fall for the last couple of weeks. I don't know about you, but I felt ZERO transition between summer and fall. It was like "Hey, it's thirty degrees Celsius out today plus humidity, but wear a jacket tomorrow because it's going to feel like fifteen with a chilly breeze". I honestly won't complain too much though because this summers heat has been a little much. Definitely not as bad as summer 2018, but I am still welcoming the cooler weather with open arms. Bring on the cozy sweaters, fuzzy socks, Bath & Body Works fall candles and the bright red and orange leaves lining the streets of my neighborhood!


Is it just me or did summer go by in the blink of an eye? Seriously though… It was definitely a very busy one! I'd like to take a moment to look back on this summer and discuss the things that made my top guilty pleasures list for this past season.


1. Country Music


There was a time where I strongly disliked country music. I think it was because when I moved to a smaller town I was in a bit of a culture shock face to the more "country" lifestyle. All anyone every listened to was country music. In the last few years, and particularly this summer, I've learned to really enjoy country music and have actually gone on quite a few country binges. My absolute overall favourite this summer has been Thomas Rhett. His songs "Life Changes", "Marry Me" and "Unforgettable" have definitely been on a loop. Other country songs that have been on repeat are "Speechless" and "From The Ground Up" by Dan + Shay. With all of the new music coming out where its completely auto-tuned and has no real meaning, I've really been enjoying the story-telling that country music has.


2. Starbucks Iced Chai Tea Lattes


HOLY GUILTY PLEASURE. I am very well aware that an iced chai tea latte is basically cold milk, chai syrup and ice… But is it ever delicious. Chai lattes are my go-to year round and I just get it iced in the summer, but there is something extra delicious about it in the hotter months. This one is definitely a GUILTY pleasure and if my wallet were a person, it would be shaking its head in shame every time I walked into a Starbucks.




3. Dresses of all kinds


Pants are so overrated, am I right? I basically live in dresses in the summer time and wouldn't have it any other way. I love a good sun dress for evenings and weekends, and I've been wearing three dresses to work basically on a weekly basis because of how cute, comfortable and yet professional they look. My absolute favourite new dress that I wore a ton this summer was from Dynamite. It was nice enough that I could dress it up for a wedding, and yet very easy to dress down by throwing on some more casual wedges and a cross-body bag.



4. Weddings


Man, I love a good wedding. I hadn't been to one in two years and this summer I got to go to two! The first was with my friend Serena who needed a plus one. We got all dolled up (see picture in pink dress above!) and went to this gorgeous wedding in our home town. I didn't even know the bridal party and their story still got me all choked up. What can I say... I'm a romantc. The second wedding was extra special because it was my friend from middle and highschool, Tasha, getting married. Seeing her so happy and glowing on her special day really warmed my heart. Their vows were so touching and just everything about the day was perfect. On top of that, I got to go with an incredible date which was really just the cherry on top. Weddings are definitely added to the guilty pleasures list because I just can't get enough of that kind of cheesy stuff.



5. French Press Coffee


Coffee seems to be a reoccuring theme here... I got this cute single serving french press from Ikea and I have been enjoying sitting on the couch with a book or YouTube video on weekend mornings with a fresh cup of coffee made with my french press. Coffee has also fuelled lots of relaxed writting mornings throughout the summer. Sometimes, the best things takea little bit of extra time.




6. Running


I've been taking running a lot more seriously this summer having commited to running a half marathon (make sure to be back next week for my post half marathon update!). I've participated in two 10km races in the summer and have been adding distance to my training with each passing week. Running has definitely been a good way to release stress, get some fresh air and stay healthy this summer. Alex's dad asked me why I ran if no one was chasing me... That is an excellent question.



This summer just flew by, but I can confidently say that I made some great memories. This season definitely took me from some twists and turns, but it was overall a really good summer. Some things about summer we look forward to every year, like beaches and patio drinks. These were just some of the different things that dug a special space in my heart... Especially the iced chai...


What were your summer guilty pleasures and favourite memories? Feel free to share! Make sure to be subscribed for weekly content!

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Never miss a post!

© 2019 By Lori-Anne Thibault. Proudly created by WIX.COM 

bottom of page