top of page
  • Writer's pictureLori-Anne Thibault

Getting Ahead of the Winter Blues

It seems like winter arrived in the blink of an eye. This fall has gone by rather fast, and although I know that it isn't technically winter yet, it sure feels like it. Ottawa saw a record snow fall for November 11th since the 80's. Suddenly, it feels like time has slowed down. Winter always feel like this weight on my shoulders, and I know that I'm not the only one who feels the weight of winter. This year, I want to get ahead of the winter blues, and make the best of it while keeping the winter blues at bay.


Keeping Active


There are many ways to keep active in the winter. Working out and playing sports is something that always energizes me and makes me feel good. As much as winter is a good opportunity to stay in and relax, after a while I end up feeling lazy and tired. I plan on staying extra active through the winter to keep the endorphins flowing. If you read my blog consistently, you know that I love to run. This being said, I am not someone who is able to run in the winter time. For one, it is wayyyyyy too cold for that. Also, I am too clumsy to run when there is ice covering the sidewalks without wiping out and breaking every bone in my body. Because my main and favourite form of physical activity is taken away, I try to make time for the gym. It's not my favourite way of exercising, but it keeps me healthy. I often have to push myself to go, but I also know that after every workout I am feeling great about myself and energized. I actually prefer winter sports overall, which is why the snow and cold doesn't totally break my heart. I figure skated for three years and even though it wasn't for a very long time, I was absolutely in love with the sport. I was actually not half bad either. Even though I've lost basically all of my skills, I still love getting out and skating. It's a fun form of physical activity that can be done indoors and outdoors. I also love skiing. I haven't been in a few years now, but this year I am hoping to get more time on the slopes! The anticipation is definitely one way of keeping the winter blues away!


Getting Sunlight


Okay... I know that getting sunlight means having to get out in the cold. That sucks, I know. But there are ways of getting outside in the late fall and winter time and still having a good time and keeping those winter blues away. Although outdoor activities are different and a little harder in the winter time, something as simple as taking a long walk or going skating is beneficial. Personally, I feel like it's hard to get a lot of sunlight in the winter since it's just getting light out when I leave for work in the morning, and the sun is setting by the time the work day is done. Taking 5 minutes out of your lunch to take a walk and get some fresh air could even be enough to do the trick. Maybe take a coffee break and walk to the nearest coffee shop, or run a quick errand during lunch (something I used to do a lot at my previous job). Since there is literally nothing within walking distance of my work, I get a little bit of sunshine when I go out and get the mail every day. Hey, every little bit counts! Getting outside is important to absorb vitamin D, and to get the serotonin flowing in your brain. Serotonin is known to boost your mood and to help you feel calm and focused. So in other words, serotonin is the key to fighting off the winter blues. Other ways of increasing your serotonin levels besides the sun are getting lots of sleep and exercising. In other words, just practicing self-care.


Practicing Self-Care


It's so easy to feel sluggish and drained in the winter time. Neglecting ourselves only feeds into that feeling, which is why it's important to make a conscious effort to take better care of our minds and bodies. My skin gets HORRIBLE in the winter time. Honestly, it eats away at my self-confidence. So I use this as an excuse to do lots of face masks while sitting back and relaxing at least once per week. It's a moment where I just hit pause, which is sometimes all I really need to feel better. Self-care also includes eating well, going to bed early to get enough sleep, exercising, and just overall doing things that makes our souls feel good. When that first snow hits, it's so tempting to say "f**k this" and hibernate at any given chance. We want to sit on the couch under a blanket, eat junk, and watch endless hours of our guilty pleasure TV shows (with the launch of Disney+, I feel like this will be the case for a lot of people. I haven't jumped on that bandwagon yet!). Moral of the story is, make that effort to take care of yourself, do things that make you happy, and don't let winter get to you.


Planning Activities in Advance


I was talking to a coworker about this just last week... I love planning in advance and knowing what my next week (sometimes two) will look like. She said she doesn't like planning things too much in advance because it makes her anxious and she always fears she won't be in the mood when the day comes. Personally, I like planning my days, chores and activities around my social or personal plans. As I said, in the winter it's easy to be tempted to hibernate and be a hermit. Ever feel like you haven't seen someone in weeks or even months, and then realize it's because you both went into full hibernation mode? I feel like by planning things in advance with other people, you get that anticipation of doing fun things with friends, and the days don't feel so long, boring, and draining. If you really hate winter and you can afford to do it, plan a trip somewhere warm so that you have something exciting and sunny to look forward to! Be mindful in your plans, and plan out things for the season that you know are going to bring you joy. For myself, I know that I plan on going skiing a few times. I'm also planning on visiting my best friend (shout out to you Katie!) in my hometown for her birthday towards the end of January. Now, Pembroke isn't the most exciting place, but being with my best friend is always something I look forward to and that is fun no matter where we are. I also know that I will (most likely) be taking a trip to where my parents live with my boyfriend. It's not a hot getaway, but I know that it will be a great time and it is something that I am very much looking forward to.


Surrounding Yourself With Good People


I think we can all agree that spending time with people that don't make us happy only makes us feel more blue. If winter already does that on it's own, why add to that by not cutting out the bad people? I know way too many people who spend time with people they can't stand, either because they feel bad for them, because they maybe don't have a ton of friends in the area anymore, or because they just don't have the heart to cut ties. Being around people that don't bring us joy is absolutely exhausting. That's why I only keep those around that I always feel good to be around. I make the effort to reach out and make plans, even if it's just to catch up for an hour over coffee. Life is so busy, not only for myself, but for the people in my life. So for me, it's really important to spend that bit of free time with the people I love who lift my spirits up. I truly hope that I can bring joy into their lives as well and make them feel like their time is well spent and that spending time together makes them feel good. Winter is already exhausting enough as it is without having crappy people in your life. So do yourself a favour, and get ahead of the winter blues by prioritizing those who make you feel like a million bucks.


Making the Best of the Coziest Season


The sole thing that I look forward to in the winter other than skating and skiing is the coziness of the season. Let's face it, you can't wear a thick knit sweater, fuzzy socks and be bundled up in a big blanket year around. I mean... you can do what you want, but winter is the only time where that's a comfortable thing to do. I absolutely love being cozy. My winter clothes might actually be my favourite... Don't tell my sundresses... I have already fully embraced this cozy season by busting out all of my thickest sweaters and reading socks from Chapters. If you don't have a pair, you're missing out. Imagine knit, sherpa lined socks that feel like a clouds for your feet. I know I said to not stay in all day and be a hermit, but I think that there is a healthy way of staying in. Making staying in in maximum coziness a special treat is something that will make you feel good, rather than doing it day after day and not feeling good about it. Make staying in a treat by getting in your favourite PJ's or sweats, with your reading socks or fuzzy slippers on, with a blanket, hot chocolate and your favourite movie or TV show. Doing this from time to time and making it fun definitely makes me feel better. It's something about winter that is definitely enjoyable, and in no way increases the winter blues.


A part of me sometimes feels silly to say that a season tends to get my particularly down. But I'm not going to hide it. The winter blues are a real thing that I think many of us experience. In the past, I have felt like that winter effect would linger for weeks after the snow had melted. I for one am tired of letting this inevitable season get to me year after year. This year, I want to be intentional with my actions, and act in a way that makes me feel happy, healthy and energized. Winter, you are not getting to me this year!


I hope you enjoyed todays blog post! Make sure to be subscribed for notification of when a blog post goes live! Stay warm everyone!

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Never miss a post!

© 2019 By Lori-Anne Thibault. Proudly created by WIX.COM 

bottom of page