top of page
  • Writer's pictureLori-Anne Thibault

2020 Resolutions

As much as I sometimes think New Years Resolutions are overdone and cliché, I do tend to jump on the bandwagon as the new year comes around. The whole “New year, new me” thing is total BS. You’re still the same person you were last week, you just have a newfound motivation. I do however believe that that motivation can be used for self-improvement and that the new year is a good time to give yourself a kick in the butt. If you want something, you shouldn’t wait until January to pursue it. But if you haven’t changed that bad habit yet, now is prime time.

In previous years, I’ve made myself a long list of resolutions. Of course, I never stuck to them because the list was too long and specific. This year, I’ve chosen to make broader goals that will touch many things.

Be Better With Finances


I swear this one is on my list every year. I’ve gotten by up until now, but I can’t say that I’m necessarily good with my money. I have plans this year to move and to perhaps travel in the next couple years, and for that I will need some solid savings. Thankfully, with a new position and salary, I can work towards that financial responsibility that I want to achieve.

Prioritize Health


Fitness has been something increasingly important to me over the last couple of years. I’ve gotten much better about it, but I’ve definitely slipped over the last few months. I am making the resolution to make my health a top priority, by exercising regularly, eating healthy, practicing self-care, taking vitamins, and listening to my body. I have a habit of brushing off injuries, and tiring and stressing myself out. This year, I want to break that habit and truly treat my body the way it deserves to be treated.

Make More Time For What I Love

Life is flying by too darn fast. I swear I hardly saw 2019 go by. This being said, I feel like I didn’t really make the most of my time. There are so many things I enjoy doing that I feel like I don’t do enough. Many people fall into that after work Netflix routine I am definitely one of those people. I want to make a resolution of making a point of spending time doing things I love to do, like reading, painting, drawing, running, photography, and being with friends. Prioritizing passions is super important, and I don’t want to lose sight of it.

Resolutions like “Save 10k for a trip” or “drink 3L of water everyday” are great, but I personally think that they don’t set you up for success. I believe that broader goals about bettering your life as a whole are more positive and a healthier way of approaching resolutions. For example, be better with finances to me means that I can save that money, and because of that not only could I travel, but I could pay off debt, improve my credit score, feel more secure and enjoy the things in life like travelling, going out to the spa or getting the new top I’ve been eying.

What are some of your resolutions for 2020? Let me know! If you aren’t subscribed, I invite you to register your email below to receive notifications when new blog posts go up. Happy Monday!


22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Never miss a post!

© 2019 By Lori-Anne Thibault. Proudly created by WIX.COM 

bottom of page